WANTED: friend for lonely michigander. must have sense of humor, exceptional hygeine, and appreciation of animals. emotional baggage will not be tolerated.

I haven’t slept well lately, and I wish I had a good reason why.  I have gone to bed between 1 and 2 in the morning, but have been waking up before 8am.  I drag through the day, and then I try to go to sleep at 10pm and I can’t.  I take my grouchy-tired attitude out on Dan, lay in bed, and don’t fall asleep.  After an hour or two of that, I will get up and get on my computer.  Then I fall asleep at 1 or 2am and do it all over again the next day.  It’s becoming a cycle.

Perhaps I don’t expend enough energy during the day?  Today was the first day I did something.  I cleaned the apartment and ran some errands.  My body felt like it was hit by a bus by the end of the day.  It’s weird to me how, when I have all of the time in the world to do whatever I want, I choose to just sit here.  Now is optimal time for me to learn a hobby or learn to use my sewing machine.  I’ve been aching to do some art lately, and the time doesn’t get any better than this.  I could even read a book !  I have been putting off reading for the last four years because I have been “too busy”.  I don’t really have an excuse any more now that college is over and done.  Either way, my body is spent after getting in the car and stopping at a few stores, and that’s something to be ashamed of. 

I’m also interested in finding some clubs or organizations around here for me to join in order to help me make some friends, but I am hesitant to join anything until I know what my work schedule is like.  I’m not sure if that is a legitimate excuse or if I really am just trying to put it off.  It’s just strange to me that I’m here and I don’t know anybody around me.  I’ve met a few neighbors and people in the park, but it has only been in passing and nobody has really struck my interest enough to begin a good conversation.  Everyone that lives around here seems to be over 30 years old, and while we have things like the weather and the area in common, they don’t get my jokes and I don’t get theirs.  What’s a friendship without jokes?

Well, I guess I made a pseudo-friend.  I met one woman at the dog park a few days ago who was very friendly and was easy to talk to.  She also had a playful pitbull that would have made a good doggie date for Prandtl.  Turns out I got a “crazy” vibe from her when she started dropping huge issues in her life and wouldn’t let me get a word in edgewise.  Awkward doesn’t begin to describe it.  And then her dog ruined my new coat.  I left without looking back. Now I go to the dog park in fear that she will be there waiting to strike up another one of her “crazy” conversations.  I’m not one to look forward to meeting with people with more emotional baggage than they can carry on their own, or at least I’m not this early in the game.

Aside from the people, I am comfortable with the area and actually enjoy it.  I suppose I shouldn’t be so impatient with getting to know everyone around me, but I enjoy going out with friends and making new ones, so it’s kind of hard for me to adjust.  If nothing else, I am thankful that Dan is here to keep me company and I am relieved that he hasn’t gotten on my nerves because we spend so much time together.  Score 1 for a clingy relationship!

I am hopeful that the people that start working with me at Delta will be young and approximately my own age.  I also hope that they are friendly and not workaholics.  I hate it when people have so much focus on their computer that they can’t give any real people around them the time of day.  I will forever be an advocate of in-person or telephone interaction versus e-mail.  I also hope that the people I will be working with will share these ideals.

Ah well.  I guess I just need to suck it up and stop whining.  Moving to a new place is hard, but it’s something people do all of the time.  This isn’t my first time moving to a new place and not knowing anyone (that was college) and it certainly won’t be my last.

Explore posts in the same categories: Growing Up

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

