the saint paul farmers’ market

Dan and I are fortunate enough to live next door to one of the many Farmers’ Markets in the twin cities area.  We usually sleep in on weekends and don’t get up in time to get to the market, but today we made it over there at about 11:30am.  As we walked the aisles, we were inspired to make a beef stew.  Lucky us – this was probably going to be the last weekend for a lot of the vegetable vendors. 
 
We found carrots, onions, potatoes, and celery for our stew.  We also got a small pumpkin so we could make pumpkin bread and some wheat bread for us to use for sandwiches.  As with all of the Farmers’ Markets I’ve been to, there were at least 10 vendors with the same types of vegetables, and there were also 3 or 4 stands selling meat.  I got to talking to one vendor, and he alluded to a cheese stand being somewhere, but we never found it. 
 
Overall, the Farmers’ Market was pretty nice.  There wasn’t really anything unique or hard to find (except some cute decorations made in tiny pumpkins), but maybe all of the special stuff stays indoors when it’s 45 degrees out. 
 
Photo courtesy Saint Paul Farmers Market

Photo courtesy Saint Paul Farmers' Market

The stew we made turned out to be fantastic.  We’ve never done it before, but I am definitely glad that I kept the crockpot despite Dan’s whining about how unnecessary it is.  He’s right, we could get by without it, but it makes such delicious foods!  Aside from the vegetables and meat, I added water, beef stew seasoning, and beef broth. 

Our beef stew

Our beef stew

I’m excited to try to make some pumpkin bread! I hope it ends up tasting as good as I’ve been dreaming about.
Explore posts in the same categories: My Hobbies, Posts With Pictures, Yummy Foods

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “the saint paul farmers’ market”

  1. shawncita Says:

    I’m dying to know how the pumpkin bread turned out!!!

  2. heatro Says:

    I didn’t get a chance to try it yet. I am going to give it a go tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

