i feel like a princess with all of this special treatment

Yesterday I went in for my first curly cut (also known as a Deva cut).  I have grown up like a lot of curly haired women: hating my curly hair and wishing every morning that it was straight.  Since August 2009 I have strictly followed the Curly Girl (CG) method and have been working on learning to work with nature rather than against it.  Basically, the method requires that I accept that my hair is curly, be willing to embrace it, and rid myself of any hair products with any silicones and sulfates.  If anyone wants more information on it, Laura Lee has a great explanation in her blog “The College Curly“.
 
I actually really like my hair curly.  I admit it took me a couple of weeks to see the light at the end of a tunnel filled with dandruff, awful hair days, and oily roots.  I’m not really sure how I continued to stick with it (I usually drop things like that about 3 days in) but I think I was frustrated.  Straightening my hair takes up a lot of time, leaves my hair looking dead with awful split ends, and if it comes in contact with even a drop of rain, it is a frizzy mess.  Plus, even though it would like nice at first, after 4 hours it would just be laying flat on my head.  That’s not really my favorite look.
 
So, to make a long story short, my hair is now in its natural state.  But, even though I started the CG method, I never got a haircut appropriate for it.  My hair has had a nice curl to it, but it has had little curls sticking out all over the place and has just kind of looked funny to me — especially the back.  Below, you can see a  picture of me and my hair before my haircut.
 
Pre haircut

BEFORE

I was actually lucky enough to get a same-day appointment with East 42nd Street Salon in Minneapolis!  I went in at 3pm and left there at 5pm.  My haircut took 2 whole hours.  Two hours.  I walked in, my hairstylist (I think his name was Styles? I called him Kyle — oops) asked me a bunch of questions about what I didn’t like about my hair, what I did like, and what I wanted to change.  It was very different from the typical “describe the look that you want” line of questioning I’m usually confronted with.  He did ask me about length, but when I started saying I wanted curls framing my face he stopped me, told me to slow down, and asked me some more questions about my hair as it is rather than how I wanted it to be. 

When he finally started cutting, he literally went curl by curl.  It probably took him 20 minutes to get through the bottom layers of my hair.  CURL BY CURL!!  I don’t know if I can accentuate that enough here.  I have a lot of curls on my head.  Because he didn’t wet down my hair, he saw how each curl laid on my head and how it laid in relationship to the others.  He also showed me that there’s a specific place in each curl that you have to cut so that it can still grow without looking choppy and weird.  As he said, “You have to cut it where the curl begins”.  By the time he finished going through all of my curls, my hair actually looked pretty nice.  It was pretty flat since it was handled so much, but the shape was great because there weren’t any weird hairs sticking out everywhere. 

I got my hair washed after the cut so that we could see how it would look after it dried and he could do any final alterations to it.  It was pretty nice — he walked me through how I should be washing, drying, and applying product in my hair.  Then I sat under a dryer for awhile (it took forever – my hair is really thick) and we went over my hair again. 

To be honest, I wasn’t that crazy about it.  My hair was flat and less curly than in the picture above.  The dryer kept it from being frizzy, but it still wasn’t that great.  The overall shape of the haircut looked good though.  Even though I left with crappy, flat hair (due to him handling it again so much after it was dry, the dryer, or his method of putting stuff into my hair), I still had high hopes.  Those high hopes cost me $45.

Today, I completely disregarded everything he taught me regarding washing and drying because it left me with gross hair.  The results:

 AFTER

I really love it! I don’t think I’ll be getting a “regular” haircut ever again.  $45 is worth a great haircut, and what’s even better is that it’s very low maintenance and I don’t need to go in to get another cut for 3 – 6 months. 

The best part?  Styles (.. or Kyle) is also a dance instructor at a nearby dance studio.  He gave me his card, and he’ll be teaching me and Dan a little dancing!  WOO HOO!!

Explore posts in the same categories: Lookin' Good, Posts With Pictures

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “i feel like a princess with all of this special treatment”

  1. shawncita Says:

    SO jealous…What a cute cut! Sounds like you found a great stylist, too.
    I am in need of a haircut intervention myself…I look EXACTLY like Javier Bardem in “No Country for Old Men!”
    🙂


  2. […] as I said in a previous post, the cut was well worth the $45 I paid for it.   He went through my hair and cut each of my […]

  3. Jenn Says:

    Where can you get cuts like this and how do you find a salon. Girl, I have had some stylist jack up my hair so bad it stuck out at the end of the curls! I need someone who knows how to cut curly hair. Please e-mail me at auntiejennjenn@yahoo.com


Leave a Reply

