the saint paul boo’s crawl

Lowertown Saint Paul, where I live, is also known as “Slower”-town.  It seems like everything closes on weekdays at 6pm and on weekends there’s not much going on either. When I walk the skyway on a weekend, despite it being full of shops and food, everything is closed and nobody else is there.  I can’t even go to subway.  It’s pretty depressing. 

A group of people and business are trying to revive Saint Paul and make it into an entertainment district (because it has all of the amenities), and for Halloween they hosted a Lowertown Boo’s Crawl.  There are a lot of bars and clubs around here, and seven of them took part in it.  The point was to get the word out about their establishments in order to attract some regular customers.  We had to pay $10 to get a “passport” that would get us a free drink at each of the 7 bars.  Since Dan and I are new in town, we figured we might as well give it a go.  Cheap booze and the opportunity for us to meet people was waiting.

Originally, Dan and I had gotten together a group of 5.  Not bad considering we’re still new in town!  Dan had invited his friends Glenn and Charlie, and I invited along my friend Paul.  Unfortunately, Paul backed out at the last minute because he had to go to his parents’ house to pick some stuff up, and some miscommunication happened with Glenn.  Phone numbers were never exhanged and so, as we found out later via email, he had been outside of our apartment building for over an hour.  We all feel awful about it, and I guess Dan and Charlie are going to be taking him out on Monday to try to make it up to him.  Charlie came with us though, and all three of us had some pretty great costumes.  I didn’t use my camera as much as I would have liked, but here is a photo of each of us:

 

CHARLIE – The Nerd:

Charlie

DAN – Elton John:

PA310133

YOURS TRULY – Audrey Hepburn:

Audrey Hepburn

I actually ran into another Audrey Hepburn, and she complained about how nobody knew what she was all night.  Her costume was actually a bit better than mine in terms of looking more like Audrey Hepburn’s actual look in Breakfast at Tiffany’s, but I let her wear her sunglasses while I kept mine off.  I don’t think anybody really noticed but us.

The drinks actually weren’t too bad, at each place.  I was honestly expecting gross/cheap drinks, but we got a margarita, a few beers, and a mixed drink consisting mostly of vodka.  One of the more popular bars in the area, The Bulldog, gave us Pabst Blue Ribbon.  I don’t know what it is about the twin cities, but it seems like PBR is celebrated here.  It’s on tap pretty much everywhere and there are posters and signs for it on buses.  I hated drinking it, but by the time I reached the bottom of the glass it stopped tasting awful… but it definitely didn’t start tasting good.  Never will it taste good.  Anyway, we only got to 5 of the 7 bars, but because I am no good at drinking, that was more than enough for me.  At one place we got a beer called Summit EPA.  I don’t know anything about beer, but it tasted very strongly and I wasn’t a big fan of it.  The house margarita we received at The Barrio was great and I probably could have had three or four more (and then passed out under the table).  The vodka mixed drink was good, but that was our last stop so I am beginning to think that I just wasn’t tasting much any more. 

 All-in-all the night was a lot of fun and I’m really glad that we jumped out of our comfort zones and tried it out.  I met a lot of people, and although I wouldn’t be able to recognize a lot of them if I were to see them in the street tomorrow, I got the idea that a lot of the people around here are pretty cool.  I like it here more and more every day.

I would have liked to go into more detail about the night, but it’s getting relatively late and my first day of work is tomorrow!  Wish me luck!!

Explore posts in the same categories: Posts With Pictures

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

