first week on the job

As I said before, I started work on Monday, November 2nd.  I was more-or-less hired on a “trial basis” since I had no prior experience in the aviation industry.  My job, as a parts intergration contract engineer, is to go through all of the parts between Delta and Northwest airlines (they are in the process of merging) and get rid of what they don’t need any more.  There area going to be a maximum of 77 people doing this job for the next year. Craaazyyy. And I admit that it’s not the greatest of jobs or anything, but it will pay my loans for a little while as I wait for the economy to be up and running again. 

I honestly thought that there would be a lot of relatively young people working this job.  I mean, I’m going to be honest here.  This job isn’t necessarily hard.  It seems more along the lines of a beginner’s job (to me), and while I am struggling a little because I don’t know a lot about the different types of planes or parts, I am not at all worried that I won’t be able to catch on.  However, there are only 5 of us that seem to be below the age of 25.  The rest have to be at least 35 with more than a few aged over 40 or 50.  I will be fair though — many of them are old Northwest Employees that were laid off recently or opted to take voluntary leave as the merger went on. 

Perhaps the weirdest part about working with all of these people who are decades older than me is that we are all on the same level.  They are not my superiors, and that’s very strange to me.  It’s like they have racked up years and years of experience, and yet here they are, sitting next to me doing the exact same thing as I am and we are all getting paid practically the same amount.  They are all very friendly toward me though, and while I have the chance I plan on soaking up their experience and learning whatever it is they have to teach me. 

Last week and the next two weeks will consist of training for the job.  We are learning to use several databases, and we are also learning how to tell if parts at Delta and Northwest are interchangeable with one another.  A lot of it is learning where to retreive information and how to use excel, which I am very good at since I have worked as an intern for the last 4 years and done the work that engineers don’t want to do — like updating things in databases.  Honestly, I am probably more prepared for doing this job than the older folks since I am computer savvy, although I admit that I have not really taken the time to understand the parts that I’m looking at.  Once they start understanding how to use excel, I am done for.

Additionally, the “trial basis” is no longer relevant.  We had reviews on Friday and my boss was very impressed with how quickly I am catching on and says I will be staying on board.  I am wondering, however, if anyone will be missing on Monday morning.

I am much happier now that I am getting out and doing something during the day.  I do miss having all of the time in the world to do whatever I wanted, but I feel like I’m going to be paid to do a relatively easy job, socialize, and miss out on the daylight throughout the winter.  I’ll take it 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: Work

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “first week on the job”

  1. shawncita Says:

    Congrats! Sounds like you’re off to a good start!!


Leave a Reply

