im still broke

Today was supposed to be the first day of my budget, and I was excited to finally get into money saving mode, knock out my debt, and see my bank account with some real money in it again.  I was excited to stick to a budget and I was ready to go.  But today, on the first day, I realized that I have hit a brick wall already.

My problem? My income at this point is still $0. 

I was supposed to be paid last Friday, but I didn’t sign up for direct deposit since I was still in the process of signing up for a bank and getting my account all set up.  I also reasoned that, if I were to receive a check in the mail every week, I would have to go to the bank and deposit the money myself.  Then I could get cash at the same time.   So now, one week later, I’ve got nothing.  The next paycheck is supposed to be mailed out today, but I don’t have my hopes up as far as receiving it in a timely manner.  I’m going to add any money I spend as due in the “credit card payment” field since that’s what I’m using to buy things, but I would still rather see everything work out like I wanted it to instead of this halfassed “kind of budget” crap that I’m stuck dealing with.

But, budget or not, I’d still like to be paid.  And I’ve spoken with HR, but they say my check has been mailed.  So now I’m stuck in this waiting limbo.  And, to put a little salt in the wound, I can’t find the direct deposit sheet I received from HR. 

Anyway, I didn’t really have anything else to say tonight.  I guess I just wanted to whine a bit.  Dan suggested I try cooking something new every week and writing a little something about it since my pumpkin bread entry, judging by the amount of views it gets, is very popular.  I love cooking, so it’s a good motivator to get me cooking some new stuff.   Hopefully I’ll get to make something up tomorrow.

Explore posts in the same categories: Money, Work

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “im still broke”

  1. shawncita Says:

    What a sucky anti-climax – all that work to get things figured out and then no check! I’m so sorry to hear that, and I hope it arrives soon…Is it too late for you to sign up for direct deposit for the next go-round?
    Good luck!


Leave a Reply

