what i am thankful for this thanksgiving

First and foremost, Happy Thanksgiving to everyone!  My day hasn’t started out the greatest – I had to go hunting for a newspaper since I decided to grab one on the way back from taking my dog to the park.  That was obviously too long to wait since I got back and they were all gone.  I also got some grapefruit juice in my eye.  So while I am not really thankful for juice in my eye or grapefruit spoons (since mine doesn’t seem to be doing me much good), here is what I am thankful for.

My Family and Friends  –

     I grew up without a lot of confidence in myself, and that lack of self worth still creeps up on me once in awhile.  My family and friends have always been supportive of me, even when my decisions weren’t necessarily the smartest or the most thought out.  They’re the people I have run to when I needed understanding, a listening ear, or someone to listen to a funny joke that I heard.  I am far from all of them this Thanksgiving (except Dan, of course), and I truly miss them while I am here in Minnesota, but I know that they are there for me if I ever need them and, hopefully, they know that I will always be there for them.  And if I ever stop in Michigan, Ohio, Mississippi, or wherever they may be, I hope they also know that I will be visiting 🙂

Dan –

     We have been dating for 1 year, 7 months, and 11 days.  Admittedly, those butterflies and that excitement that I used to feel every time I saw him has kind of faded, but they have been replaced with a sense of security and companionship.  He understands me, he accepts me, and he loves me the way that I am.  He is everything that I ever wanted, and I am so happy that he is in my life. 

My Pets –

     The best thing about animals is that they never judge.  Even if I have an awful day and I look like a mess, they are still happy to see me.  I grew up with Lucy – she has been there for the last 10 years of my life, and she has been there through the great and the not so great times… and I have even confided in her when I didn’t think I could bring myself to confide in anyone else.  And, no matter what time I went to bed, she would go too and I’d never have to sleep alone.  Sure, she’s kind of a diva, but she is my diva and has been my best friend since the day that we brought her home.  I am so happy that she is living with me now.  Prandtl has been around for only 7 months, but her dorky attitude has brought a smile to my face every day.  Sometimes she drives me crazy, but it’s usually because she is trying so hard to please me that she ends up going over the line (like when she doesn’t think sitting next to me is close enough and, next thing I know, she is sitting on my foot and leaning against my leg).  These two have been amazing and I can’t imagine life in Minnesota without them.

My optimistic nature

     Time and time again, I am thankful that I am able to see the bright side of things.  Some call it naivete, but I see it as a way to get through life.  My innate ability to turn negatives into positives have gotten me through tough times. 

Work

     I am thankful that I have a job.  I have a means to make a living.  One day I would like to have a career, but for today, a job is just fine with me.

 

To be honest, I am thankful for every single thing in my life.  I know that many people don’t have anything this Thanksgiving, whereas I feel like I have the world on a platter.  I am thankful for my youth, my education, all of the opportunities that I have had, and the fact that tomorrow could mean anything.  

Perhaps, what I am really trying to say here is, I am thankful for my life.

Explore posts in the same categories: Growing Up

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “what i am thankful for this thanksgiving”

  1. Don Keylips Says:

    Your blog needs a ‘like’ button.

  2. Spanks Says:

    awwwwww 🙂 We’re all thankful for you, too, Heath! miss your smart-ass 🙂


Leave a Reply

