new years eve in minneapolis

When I was in high school, I remember my new years at home more than the new years celebrations I joined when I actually went out.  One year I promised my mom I would stay at home with her, and then she went to bed.  I bought my friend Donald legos that year (but hadn’t given them to him yet) and so I built lego people to sit on the couch with me.  Honestly, I think that is the most memorable new years eve I have ever had.  Weird?  Yes.  Unique and memorable for all the wrong reasons?  Also yes.

Another year, after my family and I watched the ball drop on tv, we went outside and banged on pots and pans.  My stepdad told me that was a tradition he grew up with in New York.  I thought we were going to get arrested for disturbing the peace or something.

 I am remembering details of other new years celebrations the more I think about it, but not enough to mention here.  I have had a lot of fun with friends over the years, but it’s funny how those boring nights in the comfort of my own home are what stick out in my memory. 

This year, I thought about scheduling a trip to Las Vegas.  How amazing would it be to fly in to Las Vegas on New Years Eve, have the time of my life, and fly back immediately after on the morning of New Years.  Unfortunately, the flights are looking pretty full and I don’t think I will be able to schedule it successfully since I am required to fly standby.  Plus, I don’t really want to spend the money to board Prandtl for the weekend (she’s not cheap).  Also, lets be honest, I probably wouldn’t remember much of my visit there… for the obvious reasons.

So instead it looks like Dan and I will be staying in the Twin Cities.  This year, Brit’s Pub is having a New Years party!  I am honestly really excited – apparently Brit’s Pub is ” kind of a big deal” around here and are known for their World Cup celebrations as well as the sweet lawn bowling on the roof.  Even though it’s too cold to go outside on the roof, I plan on dancing, meeting some strangers, and having the time of my life.  But I am sure that while I’m out running around downtown, I will be kind of missing a quiet night at home.

What will you be doing for New Years?

Explore posts in the same categories: Growing Up

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “new years eve in minneapolis”

  1. shawncita Says:

    We, too, banged pots and pans when I was a kid…I’m sure the neighbors hated us!
    The Lego story was awesome…Reminds me of the time I got stood up by my then-boyfriend and ended up going to the dog track with two of my oh-so-trashy buddies. I felt disgusted and pathetic, but I ended up winning $60!!
    My South American sweetie-pie and I will spend the evening with other South American folks observing particularly South American-style traditions, such as making sure to wear yellow underwear, eating 12 grapes at the stroke of midnight, and carrying a suitcase around the block after swallowing the grapes so we will travel in the new year. Should be fun. 🙂
    Happy 2010 if I don’t catch you beforehand!

    • heatro Says:

      Last year we tried walking around the block with a suitcase, but travel did not happen for any of us. Maybe it was because we forgot the 12 grapes and yellow underwear?

      Happy 2010!


Leave a Reply

