new years resolutions?

Every year on January 1st I declare my new years resolutions to everyone around me.  “I want to exercise” or “I want to save a lot of money” is something that I always come up with, and typically I will throw a few more in there to show that I actually did put some thought into it. 

On that very same year, once December 30th rolls around, I try to remember what my new years resolutions were and I typically cannot remember.  The timespan is simply too long for me to recall what I initially planned to do for the year let alone stay motivated to complete any of it.  New years resolutions for me are useless, forgotten, and lost throughout the year.

This year I plan on trying something new.  Monthly resolutions.  One month is short enough to keep me motivated and long enough for me to achieve something.  And lets not forget that after one month my chances of remembering what I set out to do in the first place are greatly increased.

I suppose that if I must have a new years resolution, it will be this:  make monthly resolutions.


For the month of January, I will work on the following:

  • Pay off $1000 of my credit card
  • Get at least $1000 in my savings account (it took a beating during my period of unemployment and that whole month I never received a paycheck)
  • Participate in at least 1 community service event
  • Exercise 3 times a week
  • Post one entry a day (for NaBloPoMo)
  • Read 1 book
  • Learn to snowboard

At the end of January, I plan to post my results!  The first of February will follow with a new list of things that I want to accomplish.  I honestly believe that this will be infinitely more effective than making my resolutions for the entire year.  And, if it should not work as I hope, I am not losing anything by trying.  I have heard that the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again expecting different results.  I have been doing the same thing for years now and have accomplished the same thing year after year — nothing.  Here’s to a new year with new plans and new goals!

I wish everyone a happy and safe New Year!  I will talk to you in 2010!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “new years resolutions?”

  1. shawncita Says:

    Happy New Year!
    I love this monthly resolution idea–what an affirming and manageable way to get things done! Very cool…I also enjoyed your post about what you’ve learned this year – It really got me reflecting about what 2009 had taught me! :o)

  2. BDO Says:

    Great goals! I wish you luck on accomplishing those monthly goals! Keep up the good work!


  3. […] how to snowboard, I might have to say goodbye to meeting the financial goals I had called out on my monthly resolutions list.  However, I do think it is too early to throw in the towel, so we will see where the month takes […]


Leave a Reply

