Latawnya, the Naughty Horse, Learns to Say “No” to Drugs

I came across a review of Latawnya, the Naughty Horse, Learns to Say “No” to Drugs while I was looking at Awful Library Books

 

 This book is hilarious!  I admit that I have been giggling (yes, giggling) about it all day.  Horses doing drugs?  Don’t you need… you know… hands?  How did they open the bottles?  And how did they light their smoking drugs?  And what do these smoking drugs consist of (cigarattes, marijuana, crack, etc)? And why would horses want to do drugs in the first place? 

 

  

 Apparently I am not the only one that is confused.  This book has its own wikipedia page

“Hardly a best seller at the time of its release, within the past few months of 2007, the book has earned a cult following, mainly by online bloggers who find the book so poorly written as to make it unintentionally hilarious. For example, there are various contradictions with the known nature of horses that would theoretically prevent them from being able to drink/smoke, namely their lack of hands.”

“This anti-drug children’s book is unusual in the fact that it uses horses instead of humans as characters. Due to its absurd writing, illustrations and comments from the author, this book sells out almost anytime a copy becomes available on Amazon.”

 So, naturally, I looked it up on Amazon because I kind of want a copy.  Can you guess how much this 29 page book costs? 

Minimum?  $64.95
Collectible? $124.95

Honestly, the high price makes me want it a little bit more.  I will tirelessly search used bookstores until I find this hidden treasure (for less than its deserved price of about $5).  And by tirelessly I mean whenever I happen to remember this book exists while I am in a used bookstore.

And finally, I would just like to take this opportunity to thank God.  “Thank you, God.”

Explore posts in the same categories: Books and Articles, Posts With Pictures

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Latawnya, the Naughty Horse, Learns to Say “No” to Drugs”

  1. claire Says:

    Ha ha! Two things… the name of the horse is the name only an African American girl would have. And… my goats party just as much as they can, horses like to, also. My goats sniff my exhaust pipe, spray paint, smoke and dust from power tools. They will drink any alcohol they can get, straight vodka. Horses love beer and fermented fruit. They get very stoned on pot. Not that I’d do any of that stuff. !!

  2. shawncita Says:

    Wha….?
    This is hilarious!!!


Leave a Reply

