Valentine’s Day Is Overrated

In my eyes, Valentine’s Day is overrated.

And it’s not that I don’t appreciate flowers, chocolates, or affection — I am a woman, afterall.  And it’s not that I am one of those people that whines about it with the standard “Why do you need a special day to love your partner” argument.  I personally think it’s great that one day a year we celebrate the fact that people are in love.  But I’m just not that into it.

When it’s my first Valentine’s Day with someone new, I am thrilled.  I go all out with special gifts and plans and fancy dinners.  But since Dan and I have been together for almost two years and have been living together for almost a year, there’s nothing that exciting about spending the evening going to the movies and dinner.  I mean, we do it all of the time!  And while it’s nice to get flowers, they’re kind of the go-to gift for every other holiday and birthday.  Plus, why should I get excited to spend my February 14th evening crammed into a movie theatre with a bunch of tweens and teenagers trying to say “smart” things to impress one another.  And going out to eat isn’t really anything special any more since we do it all of the time (although we did go out for sushi tonight… yum!)

I know I sound like a bitter old woman right now.  I have been dating Dan for less than two years and already I’m losing interest in major lovey-dovey holidays. 

Anyway, I gave Dan an electric shaver for Valentine’s Day.  He loves it.  We are nothing if not practical.

Explore posts in the same categories: Young Love

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Valentine’s Day Is Overrated”

  1. Samantha Says:

    Don’t feel bad about not celebrating Valentine’s Day because you are in a committed relationship. I have been married for 2 years and with my husband for over 7 years and we don’t celebrate and are totally ok with it. It just becomes a bigger effort than it should be and all the holidays just kinda blend together anyway… haha! 🙂

  2. Spanks Says:

    right on, heath.


Leave a Reply

