Practice Makes Perfect

I came into work this morning hoping I would get to scan some of the work I did in calligraphy class yesterday.  Unfortunately, the printing/copying/scanning machine is totally shot, so I took a picture of it with my phone instead.

You don’t really get as much detail through the picture as you would have if I had scanned it, but that’s okay.  You get the gist of it.

I’m pretty proud of myself – it’s not too bad for only using a pen and ink for a week.  I would have shown you what I was able to accomplish during the first class, but it was mostly just a sheet of paper that had ink smeared all over it.  My hand had a lot of ink on it, too.  Then I discovered that I should have an EXTRA sheet of paper to get rid of excess ink.  DUH. 

But if it makes you feel any better, “Max plays jazz sax” was the first real sentence I ever wrote.

My teacher thinks I’m pretty good (and my mom tells me I’m special), and what I really need to work on is consistency.  Once in awhile, my letters look pretty good.  Once in awhile, the spacing between letters and words is right.  Once in awhile, my letters have the correct slant to them.  Once in awhile I hold my pen at 45 degrees.  So I just need to correct that to become all of the time.  No biggie.

I also need more patience.  We draw the letters instead of write, so each letter is created very slooooowwwwwllyyyyyyyy.  By the last sentence, I was getting really agitated and trying to rush through it.  Maybe this calligraphy thing will help me out.

But for now – practice makes perfect!

Explore posts in the same categories: Artsy Things, Posts With Pictures

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Practice Makes Perfect”

  1. Don Keylips Says:

    “dave quickly spotted the four women ozing in the jury box”

    LMFAO!

    • Don Keylips Says:

      Oh, and aside from that, it looks very elegant. If I ever become a world renowned chef I will hire you full time to do my menus!

  2. Spanks Says:

    so, the whole time I’m reading “Max plays jazz sax”, and I can think about is anchorman and “yahz flute” 🙂

  3. shawncita Says:

    nice work!


Leave a Reply

